Kitchen Update #1

The one room in the house that gets me the most irritated is the kitchen. There are so many areas I don’t like but haven’t put much money into the room because it functions (for the most part) and can get extremely costly which I don’t want to do. This girl is on a budget. ;o)

What I don’t like about the current kitchen:

  1. The stove right next to the refrigerator. Talk about making one appliance making the other work harder. Silly right?
  2. No exhaust fan above my stove so the ceiling about the stove looks like s**t all the time. UGH!
  3. One light in the center of the room – so you are working in a shadow 80% of the time. UGH!
  4. The countertops were refinished almost ten years ago (with the Rust-Oleum Countertop transformations charcoal semi-gloss countertop resurfacing kit) and now are chipping.

What I like about the current kitchen:

  1. My kitchen is a a good size kitchen – no small gallery kitchen here.
  2. I like the vinyl floor that was put in about 10 years ago.
  3. My kitchen island. 🙂

Before Pictures

ABOVE: Stove next to refrigerator, and a tv tray as a counter next to stove. The wall color is a dirty looking tan with a ugly brown-purple trim color. Also note the ONLY light fixture in the kitchen is above and hangs low.
Stairway off the kitchen that leads outside and down stairs. Same ugly tan and purple-brown color.
A look at the landing…. ugly!
Kitchen cabinets: original to house – painted an dirty off white and has the cheapest pulls on them. The countertops has the black refinish over them.

The work has begun!

New LIGHTS!!! (A better picture of the countertops here.
Top cabinets GONE and my other half is working on removing part of the countertop and cabinets to be able to move the refrigerator in this spot.
More progress!!!! 😀
The puppies approve of daddy’s work 😀

Leave a comment