Putting new life into a coffee table (part 2)

Previously….. (see here) I started to bring new life into an unwanted coffee table.

So where did I leave off? Oh yes, I had 3 coats of linen white chalk paint.

Over the next few days, I had my wonderful and talented aunt upholstery the ottoman top. We used 4″ foam from JoAnn Fabrics and used 1/2 inch plywood a few inches smaller than the top of the table so the decorative edges of the table would still show.

Then I painted some hazel chalk paint in spots and sanded down areas of the table to give it that antique / stressed looked. But once I was done, I realized I didn’t like the brown tan tone.

So back to square one. I repainted over the whole table again with more linen white and purchased grey chalk paint. I think randomly painted the grey chalk paint and when to sanding again. Much better. 🙂

I used clear furniture wax on the table and waited the 24 hours to buff per the instructions.

I excited went to check it out the next day and almost cried! 😥  I didn’t notice when I was applying the wax, I had many spots where I had extra wax and it yellowed the paint and could see were the excess dried. 😦  After a lot of elbow grease, a blow dryer, and my other half’s help, the wax issue was corrected. (Note: next time very very thin wax coats!!)

My other half screwed the ottoman top the coffee table base, and TA’DA! 😀

SOOOO HAPPY how it turned out! My first chalk paint DYI!

20180531_203652

Close up the the distressed / antiquing! 😀

20180531_200925

When I try to find something comparable online around the same size (apprx: 22″ wide by 58″ long), below is the closest I could find, and doesn’t have the rich blues for an accent.

 

 

ott

 

 

If you just have to have this adorable antique styled ottoman coffee table, it can be yours! Please visit here! 🙂

Onto the next chalk paint project!

Leave a comment